Santa Barbara Saints Youth Football League

League History and Founder


In 1971, Jim Halliburton envisioned a football league that would bring the excitement and enjoyment of full contact football to the youth of Santa Barbara's south coast. Little did he imagine that over four decades later this league would still be alive and well.  In the last 40 years, some 20,000 players have played for Santa Barbara Youth Football League competing along-side with teams from El Rio, Carpinteria, the Santa Ynez Valley and northern Santa Barbara County.  Today, Santa Barbara YFL fields between 12-16 teams in 4 divisions for youth between 7 and 14 years of age.  It's up to all of us to ensure that this league continues for yet another 40 years as we endeavor to teach our youth the values of commitment, teamwork, sportsmanship, endurance, physical conditioning, leadership and a winning spirit. Thank you Jim, for your vision and commitment to the positive growth of Santa Barbara's youth.


1971: Santa Barbara Youth Football League is Incorporated.  In the first year, there are Approximately 450 players

1972: Approximately 700 players participate on 24 teams from the Santa Barbara, Goleta, Santa Ynez and Carpinteria Areas.

1973: The league expands to over 900 players and 30 teams.

1981: The Coastal Valleys Youth Football Conference is formed with chapters in Santa Barbara, Five Cities, Nipomo, Orcutt, Santa Ynez, Lompoc and Vandenberg  Village.

1982: Expansions continues for a total of 23 chapters in the conference.

1993: The conference splits into three conferences, the Central Coast Youth Football Conference to the north, the Pacific Youth Football Conference to the south and the Coastal Valley Youth Football Conference, the central conference, retaining the original conference charter.

1995: Santa Barbara Youth Football League celebrated its 25-year anniversary.

2001: Santa Barbara Youth Football League entered its fourth decade of service to the youth of the Santa Barbara andG oleta areas with approximately 400 players on 14 teams. The Coastal Valley Youth Football Conference entered its third decade of youth football at its finest, with chapters in Nipomo, Vandenberg Village, Santa Ynez, Santa Barbara, Carpinteria and El Rio.

2002: Santa Barbara Youth Football League again hosts 14 teams. For the first time in history, Santa Barbara enters five teams in the Super Bowl, including, at least one from every division. 

2003: Santa Barbara Youth Football League marks a page in the history book, since the inception of the CVYFC, with six Santa Barbara Chapter teams in three divisions contending for the Super Bowl Title.

2004: Santa Barbara Youth Football League hosts 16 teams winning the Bantam and Senior Division Super Bowl Championships.

2005: The Coastal Valley Youth Football Conference welcomes Ojai to the conference. The CVYFC now consists of Nipomo, Santa Ynez, Santa Barbara, Carpinteria, El Rio and Ojai. Santa Barbara Youth Football League enters 4 teams in the Super Bowl wining the Bantam,Junior I and Senior Championships.

2006: Santa Barbara Youth Football League has over 400 players on 15 teams. Two Santa Barbara Junior II teams competed in the Super

2007: The Santa Barbara board of director’s elects the first woman president. Santa Barbara  was represented in the Super Bowl in three divisions winning the Bantam Championship.

2008: The Tri Valleys Youth Football Conference was established and a new way of assigning players to a division were born. Both Santa Barbara Senior teams played for the Super Bowl Championship.

 2016: Join Gold Coast Youth Football League GCYFL